Chronology of South Florida Womens Hockey

1996 Beginnings

Womens hockey in South Florida started over 20 years ago in 1995. Most of the players back then were Canadian transplants who wanted to continue playing the sport they love. The leader of the few that did play was Karen Ota who was instrumental in bringing the women together to play as one team to play games against the few other womens teams in Florida. 

Below are the critical milestones and accomplishments that have taken place throughout the years...

April 1996

First Southeast ALL Women Florida Ice Hockey tournament team formed to play in the Quebec's Coup de Soleil Tournament.

Spring 2002

Fort Lauderdale Freeze wins Sunshine State Games.

Original players are now members of the USA Hockey National 40+ Lucky Puck HockeyTeam

January 2003

Ft. Lauderdale Freeze join the mens league at Incredible Ice (now NHL Florida Panthers Ice Den) in Coral Springs, FL, becoming the FIRST all-womens's team in South Florida area to compete in a mens ice hockey league.

February 2003

Florida Womens Hockey League (FWHL) is formed of the Ft. lauderdale Freeze and Lady Everblades from Ft. Meyers. The teams were sparked by the success of The Sunshine State Games that took place at TECO Arena (now Hertz Arena) in Estero FL. The league began with 11 teams from Tampa, Jacksonville, Orlando, Brandon, Daytona, Ft.Lauderdale, and Ft. Meyers.

June 2003

First FWHL Games played

February 2004

Ft. Lauderdale Freeze finish the inaugural FWHL season with 11-1-1 record and become B Division champions and qualify to represent in USA Hockey Southeast District Championships

March 2005

Freeze team name changed to Florida Beaches. Become the first womens team from Florida to qualify for USA Hockey National Championships.

Summer 2006

Hosts of the 1st Annual Golf Invitational - To date the Lucky Pucks have raised thousands of dollars for charities, to name just a few of several great causes: St. Judes Childrens Hospital, the Leukemia  and American Cancer Societies, Rose Charity in which we helped build a school in South Africa 

Spring 2007

Florida Beaches C Team breaks out on their own to start a new team:

The Lucky Pucks Ice Hockey Club was formed!

Winter 2007

The Lucky Pucks win their first FWHL Tournament

Spring 2010

Lucky Pucks enter their first 40+ win USA Hockey National Championships - Silver

Spring 2011

Lucky Pucks 40+ win USA Hockey National Championships - GOLD

Spring 2012

Lucky Pucks 40+ win USA Hockey National Championships - 2nd Silver

Lucky Pucks also wins Florida State Championships in both Recreational and 'C' Divisions

2014, 2015, 2016, 2017

Lucky Pucks C Team Florida State Championships!


Lucky Pucks 40+ win USA Hockey National Championships - 2nd Silver

2021 Lucky Pucks adds Novice team to the FWHL's Inaugural Novice Division


Lucky Pucks 40+ win USA Hockey National Championships - 2nd Silver



Photo Gallery:

Print | Sitemap
© Karen Ota