Women’s hockey in South Florida started over 25 years ago in 1995.

Most of the players back then were Canadian transplants who wanted to continue playing the sport they love. The leader of the few that did play was Karen Ota who was instrumental in bringing the women together to play as one team to play games against the few other women’s teams in Florida. 

Below are the critical milestones and accomplishments that have taken place throughout the years.

April 1996

  • First Southeast ALL Women Florida Ice Hockey tournament team formed to play in the Quebec's Coup de Soleil Tournament.

Spring 2002

  • Fort Lauderdale Freeze wins Sunshine State Games.
  • Original players are now members of the USA Hockey National 40+ Lucky Puck Hockey Team

January 2003

  • Ft. Lauderdale Freeze join the men’s league at Incredible Ice (now NHL Florida Panthers Ice Den) in Coral Springs, FL, becoming the FIRST all-women's team in South Florida area to compete in a men’s ice hockey league.

February 2003

  • Florida Women’s Hockey League (FWHL) is formed of the Ft. Lauderdale Freeze and Lady Everblades from Ft. Meyers. The teams were sparked by the success of The Sunshine State Games that took place at TECO Arena (now Hertz Arena) in Estero FL. The league began with 11 teams from Tampa, Jacksonville, Orlando, Brandon, Daytona, Ft. Lauderdale, and Ft. Meyers.

June 2003

  • First FWHL Games played

February 2004

  • Ft. Lauderdale Freeze finish the inaugural FWHL season with 11-1-1 record and become B Division champions and qualify to represent in USA Hockey Southeast District Championships.

March 2005

  • Freeze team name changed to Florida Beaches. Become the first women’s team from Florida to qualify for USA Hockey National Championships.

Summer 2006

  • Hosts of the 1st Annual Golf Invitational - To date the Lucky Pucks have raised thousands of dollars for charities, to name just a few of several great causes: St. Jude’s Childrens Hospital, the Leukemia and American Cancer Societies, Rose Charity in which we helped build a school in South Africa.

Spring 2007

  • Florida Beaches C Team breaks out on their own to start a new team: The Lucky Pucks Ice Hockey Club was formed!

Winter 2007

  • The Lucky Pucks win their first FWHL Tournament

Spring 2010

  • Lucky Pucks enter their first 40+ win USA Hockey National Championships - Silver

Spring 2011

  • Lucky Pucks 40+ win USA Hockey National Championships - GOLD

Spring 2012

  • Lucky Pucks 40+ win USA Hockey National Championships - 2nd Silver
  • Lucky Pucks also wins Florida State Championships in both Recreational and 'C' Divisions

2014, 2015, 2016, 2017

  • Lucky Pucks C Team Florida State Championships!


  • Lucky Pucks 40+ win USA Hockey National Championships - 2nd Silver


  • Lucky Pucks adds Novice team to the FWHL's Inaugural Novice Division 


  • Lucky Pucks 40+ win USA Hockey National Championships - 2nd Silver


  • Lucky Pucks 40+ Win USA Hockey National Championships GOLD
  • Lucky Pucks C, Rec & Novice Win Florida State Championships!
  • Junior Lucky Pucks U14/16 Girls Travel Team Formed 


Lucky Pucks Novice & C Division win Florida State Championship.

Lucky Pucks 21+ Tier 2 Win Silver USA Hockey Nationals.

Inaugural 2007 Season

Confirm Delete
Click the delete icon again to confirm. Click escape to cancel.